All-Met Teams Announced

By - April 10, 2007

Quick trivia: Name the only set of teammates in the nation who averaged greater than 20 points apiece this season.

If you answered Reynolds-and-Singletary, Hansbrough-and-Wright or Durant-and-[Insert Texas player], you'd be incorrect since none of those high-profile scoring tandems managed to turn the trick. Hofstra's Loren Stokes (20.3 ppg) and Antoine Agudio (20.2 ppg) did, however, one of many reasons the backcourt mates were named to the All-Metropolitan New York first team Tuesday by the Metropolitan Basketball Writers Association -- the time-honored awards that have been handed out since 1933 (a generation-and-a-half before the Associated Press starting designating postseason standouts in 1961).

Marist's Jared Jordan earned the Haggerty Award, given to the top player in the metro New York area. The Hartford native led the nation in assists for the second straight season and collected MAAC player of the year honors while leading the Red Foxes to the program's first-ever outright regular-season MAAC title. The do-everything point guard is the second Marist player to win the Haggerty Award following Izett Buchanan, a co-winner in 1994.

Joining Stokes, Agudio and Jordan on the first team were St. John's post man Lamont Hamilton and Rider defensive stopper Jason Thompson.

Jordan's coach in Poughkeepsie, Matt Brady, was named coach of the year after leading the Red Foxes to a program record for victories (25) and a second-round showing in the NIT during his third year on the sidelines. Brady inherited a team that won just six games during the 2003-04 season.

Seton Hall's Eugene Harvey, a native Brooklynite who averaged 16.5 points and 4.2 assists for the Pirates, was named rookie of the year.

Seton Hall's Brian Laing, Marist's Will Whittington, Fairleigh Dickinson's Andre Harris, St. John's Anthony Mason, Jr., Columbia's John Baumann and Fordham's Bryant Dunston and Marcus Stout collected second team honors, while Army's Jarell Brown, Rutgers' J.R. Inman, Fairfield's Mike Van Schaick, St. Francis' Robert Hines and Manhattan's Devon Austin and Arturo Dubois were named to the third team.

Posted by at 02:26 PM on April 10, 2007

Post A Comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

The Sloggers... Links CSTV Basketball Blogs Posts By Site Archives...