Maui Invitational Announces 2009 Field

By Josh Herwitt - November 17, 2007

We haven't even seen a game of this year's EA SPORTS Maui Invitational, but we've already got the field set for 2009.

Tournament organizers announced early Saturday that Arizona (winner in 2000), Louisville and Gonzaga (runner-up in 2005) will be part of a monster eight-team field for the 26th edition of the tournament. Division II Chaminade will once again host the tournament for a lineup that also includes Maryland, Wisconsin, Colorado and Vanderbilt (winner in 1995).

The 2008 version of the tournament also features some quality teams with Alabama, Indiana, North Carolina, Notre Dame, Oregon, Saint Joseph's and Texas all making the trip to Lahaina, Hawaii.

This year's field consists of Duke, Marquette, Oklahoma State, Illinois, LSU, Arizona State and host Chaminade, as play begins Monday with Game 1 pitting Chaminade against No. 10 Marquette at 2:30 p.m. ET. Of course, I'll be watching on the Deuce, as those guys up in Bristol call it, so look for a post here on the opening round of play.

The rest of Monday's action includes LSU vs. Oklahoma State, Princeton vs. No. 13 Duke and Arizona State vs. Illinois.

Posted by Josh Herwitt at 11:04 AM on November 17, 2007

Post A Comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

The Sloggers... Links CSTV Basketball Blogs Posts By Site Archives...