Heisman Winners Have Their Weekend

By Adam Caparell - June 28, 2007

AUSTIN, Texas - A gathering like this is usually reserved for New York, around the second weekend of December, when one of the most exclusive clubs in all of sports congregates for the presentation of the most prestigious individual trophy in all of sports.

But the Heisman Winners Associate is trying something a little different in 2007 and for the first time ever has organized the Heisman Winners Weekend in what could be the largest gathering of Heisman winners in history. When it's all said and done, up to 25 Heisman winners, spanning at least six decades, will be on hand to pay tribute to two of their own - 1957 winner John David Crow and 1977 winner Earl Campbell - as well as raise some money for charity.

Already in attendance at the Barton Creek Resort & Spa are 1976 winner Tony Dorsett, 1974-75 winner Archie Griffin and some of the game's biggest and brightest names. They'll play a few rounds of golf, attend a few dinners and enjoy each other's company in the rarest of rare get-togethers for these college football legends.

"Guys have a lot of respect for each other," 1990 winner Ty Detmer said. "Lot of them have done some great things on the football field and some of them have done some great things in their lives and that's what the HWA is all about: helping each other out and raising money for each other's charities. It's really a great group of guys and I think the public will see that this weekend."

But to kick things off, they had a little fun.

The Heisman winners dined on a catered meal and savored a few cocktails as the laughs were loud and the reminiscing rampant. A few hours into the informal dinner, the winners picked their teams for a Rider Cup-esque outing set for Saturday. 1980 winner George Rogers, the life of Thursday's weekend opening ceremony, had the first pick after winning the coin-toss that Detmer presided over. And Rogers promptly cracked a wide grin.

"I know who plays," Rogers boasted.

And with the first pick he went with 2000 winner Chris Weinke.

1989 winner Andre Ware, the opposing captain, went with 1987 winner Tim Brown for his first selection followed by Detmer, 1978 winner Billy Sims and 1991 winner Desmond Howard.

Rogers tabbed 1972 winner Johnny Rogers and 1983 winner Mike Rozier for his team before using his final pick on 1995 winner Eddie George. George, apparently, doesn't play much golf. The Austin nightlife is more his speed.

Posted by Adam Caparell at 11:34 PM on June 28, 2007

Post A Comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

The Sloggers... Categories CSTV.com Links Blogroll Archives...