Newest Mr. Heisman

By Adam Caparell - December 08, 2007

NEW YORK - Tim Tebow became the first sophomore to win the Heisman Trophy, beating out Darren McFadden in a close vote.

Tebow, the Florida quarterback, garnered 462 first place votes and 1,957 points in total while McFadden, the Arkansas running back, finished with 1,703 points and 291 first place votes.

McFadden received the second most first place votes for a runner up in Heisman history and the third most points for a second place finisher. He also became the third player in history to finish second back-to-back seasons. Charlie Justice was the last to do it in 1948-49.

925 ballots were sent out to assembled media and former Heisman winners and 96 percent of the ballots were received back (887).

Hawaii quarterback Colt Brennan came in third with 632 points and Missouri quarterback finished fourth with 425 points.

The rest of the Top 10 looked like this:

5. Dennis Dixon, Oregon (178 points)
6. Pat White, West Virginia (150 points)
7. Matt Ryan, Boston College (63 points)
8. Kevin Smith, UCF (55 points)
9. Glenn Dorsey, LSU (30 points)
10. Chris Long, Virginia (17 points)

Posted by Adam Caparell at 08:55 PM on December 08, 2007

Post A Comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

The Sloggers... Categories Links Blogroll Archives...