MU-UT: Never Seen That Before...

By Glenn Tanner - May 05, 2007


Texas has finally busted it open and leads 5-0 at the seventh inning stretch.

Southpaw Rick Zagone had dominated the Texas lefties all day, but Kyle Russell delivered a bases-loaded single in the sixth to knock out Zagone.

Then hilarity ensued.

The top of the fifth was pretty crazy itself. The Tigers loaded the bases with one out on a walk, an aluminum-bat-fister just over the third baseman's head, and an error. Adrian Alaniz got an out on short fly, then really got bailed out by Jordan Danks. Evan Frey lofted a long fly to left that I thought the wind might carry for a grand slam. But Danks ran it down on the track, crashed into the wall, and held on this time to preserve the shutout.

Danks was replaced in the field to start the 6th inning, so he's at least a little shaken up.

In the bottom of the sixth, Preston Clark led off with his third straight hit, moved to second on a sac bunt, and scored on Chais Fuller's third straight hit. In case you haven't guessed, Clark and Fuller are both righties. Texas loaded the bases on a HBP and another single by Travis Tucker, but Zagone got a comebacker from Nick Peoples to get the second out at home, then worked Russell to a 3-2 count before the big lefty pulled a two-run single into right.

The inning ended in bizarre fashion, as Chance Wheeless popped up a can of corn in front of the plate. Catcher Trevor Coleman camped under it right on the third-base line, but went diving out of the way and the ball bounced to the turf as Longhorn Nick Peoples stepped around him and touched the plate. Home plate umpire Ken Eldridge immediately signaled an out, and explained the call to a surprisingly calm Augie Garrido. Peoples apparently yelled "I GOT IT!" as he came up behind Coleman, so Eldridge called him out for interference.

Zagone's final line: 5.2 innings, 11 hits, 5 earned runs, one walk and five strikeouts. Lefties were 2-for-10 with 5 K's against Zagone, but righties lit him up to the tune of 11-for-14.

Alaniz has allowed only two hits through seven innings.

By the way, the Going Yard guys were here yesterday.

Posted by Glenn Tanner at 05:10 PM on May 05, 2007
Comments (2)

Comments

Well, why didn't Peoples catch it if he called it? Your taught that in little league. He sounds reely stupid.

Yeah. I second Maria's comment. And furthermore, if Peoples was called for interference, why wasn't Texas assessed a 15-yard penalty?

Post A Comment

(If you haven't left a comment here before, you may need to be approved by the site owner before your comment will appear. Until then, it won't appear on the entry. Thanks for waiting.)

The Slogger... Posts By Site More Baseball Archives...